You are here: Migration Management Center > Migration Modes

Migration Modes

OVERVIEW

The Migration Center can be used in four different modes. The mode selected determines what the admin can do and see within the Migration Center. The four migration modes are:

ADMINISTRATION

ClosedOffline

Being in Offline mode means that the site is not connected to either a source site or a target (destination) site, and it is not in the process of importing a Migration Package. Within Offline mode the admin can view the contents of the target site or create or modify Migration Packages that exist on the target site.

When an admin first enters the Migration Center, it will be in Offline mode. To return to offline mode from another mode:

Comparison icons will not be available in Offline mode, and checkboxes will not be present in the Whole Site view while in Offline mode.


ClosedImport From Source

Import From Source mode allows the admin to connect to a source site and perform a migration from the source site to the target site.This is the standard migration mode which existed prior to 2015 R1.

To enter Import From Source mode:

  1. Click the Select A Mode button in the top-right corner of the Migration Center (if you are in Import Package mode, click Cancel to go to Offline mode to reveal the Select A Mode drop-down).
  2. Click Import From Source.

    The Login To Source Site dialog box appears.

  3. Enter the base URL of the source site into the Source Site field. Do not include anything after the “.com” of the URL.
  4. Enter the username and password of the source site’s superuser or a FullAccess user with permission to create/modify users on the source site into the Username and Password fields, respectively.

  5. Click Connect to connect to the source site and enter Import From Source mode.

Once in Import From Source mode, the user must select a View (either Whole Site or a Package View) to view and migrate the contents of the source site or a Migration Package on the source site. For more information, see the Performing a Migration and Migration Packages topics.

Prior to 2015 R1, Import From Source was the only migration mode in the Migration Center. Since there was only one “mode,” pre-2015 R1 sites do not have the concept of migration modes and are always in the Import From Source “mode.”


ClosedImport Package

Import Package mode allows an admin to upload a previously downloaded Migration Package to the current (target) site.

To enter Import Package mode:

  1. Click the Select A Mode button in the top-right corner of the Migration Center (if you are in Import Package mode, click Cancel to go to Offline mode to reveal the Select A Mode drop-down).
  2. Click Import Package.

    The Upload Package dialog box appears.

For step-by-step instructions on how to import a Package, see the see the "Importing a Package" section of the Migration Packages topic.


ClosedConnect To Destination

Connect to Destination mode allows an admin to view a comparison of the source site and the destination (target) site. Because this mode is initiated from the source site, admins have easy access to the comparison without logging into the target site and initiating the migration process.

To enter Connect to Destination mode:

  1. Click the Select A Mode button in the top-right corner of the Migration Center (if you are in Import Package mode, click Cancel to go to Offline mode to reveal the Select A Mode drop-down).
  2. Click Connect to Destination.

    The Login To Destination Site dialog box appears.

  3. Enter the base URL of the target site into the Destination Site field. Do not include anything after the “.com” of the URL.
  4. Enter the username and password of the target site’s superuser or a FullAccess user with permission to create/modify users on the target site into the Username and Password fields, respectively.

  5. Click Connect to connect to the source site and enter Import From Source mode.

Migrations cannot be performed in this mode, so checkboxes are not present in the Whole Site view. However, checkboxes are present in the Package views, as are site comparison icons. This allows admins to use the comparison between the two sites to manage Package contents.


NOTES

RELATED TOPICS

Related Topics Link IconSee Also