You are here: Migration Management Center > Migration Packages

Migration Packages

OVERVIEW

Migration Packages allow admins to create groups of objects to be quickly referenced for repeated migrations. Packages can also be downloaded as ZIP files and passed along to other admins to upload to another site. The CPQ Cloud Team and its Partners may also use Packages to create and distribute groups of objects to customers to implement certain functionality on a CPQ Cloud site.

Migrating or importing a Package to a site will modify objects on the target site according to the state of the objects in the Package.

Similar to migration, objects in a Package will be compared to objects on the target site and the results of the comparison will be reflected by the standard Migration Center icons, such as Doesn’t exist on the source and Doesn’t match the source.

ClosedViews

The View drop-down, in the upper left-hand corner of the Migration Center page, is part of Package administration. The menu is divided into View and Packages. The menu will default to Whole Site when first opening the Migration Center.  

ClosedWhole Site View

ClosedPackages View

ClosedIcons in the Package View

Icons in the Migration Center header bar, outlined in red below, appear when the admin is viewing a Package.

Button

Button Name Description

Package Information

Package Information opens a dialog box to display and edit all high level details entered when a Package was created.

Download Package

Download Package prepares a Package ZIP file to be downloaded to the user’s local file directory.  The Status of the download will appear in the bottom left of the Migration Center. 

Once the download is complete, the user can click the Package name link within the Status area or the Migration Logs page.  Clicking the name opens a standard browser prompt to Open the Package ZIP file or Save it to the user’s local file directory.

Save Package

Save Package saves all changes to the current Package.  This button is disabled until changes have been made to the Package.

Delete Package

Delete Package deletes the current Package.  The user will receive a pop-up to confirm the delete.


ADMINISTRATION

ClosedCreating a Package

Packages can be created in Offline mode or Connect to Destination mode. When creating a Package, it will be created on the source site (the site that the admin is using the Migration Center within), regardless of what mode is selected.

To create a Package, select Create Package from the View drop-down. The Create Package dialog box appears.

The Name and Package Version fields are required.  The combination of these two fields must be unique to the site.  The Name field cannot be edited once a Package has been created. The Name and Package Version will be concatenated to display in the View drop-down.

Description and Release Date are optional.  This data will only display when viewing the Package Information dialog box or when importing a Package.

The Dependencies section is optional and can be used to indicate that the Package depends on certain other Packages to be installed first in order to function. These dependencies can be indicated by adding them from the list of Packages on the site in the Available box, or by specifying the Package name and version manually in the Custom Package Dependency fields. This data will only display when viewing the Package Information dialog box or when importing a Package.

Clicking Create will save the new Package and switch to the new Package’s view.

To add objects to the Package, select the checkboxes of the desired objects in the Contents pane or the Details pane.

When the desired objects have been selected, click the Save Package button.


ClosedMigrating a Package

To migrate a Package to a target site:

  1. Click Admin to go to the Admin Home Page.
  2. Click Migration under Utilities.

    The Migration Center appears.

  3. Select Import From Source from the Select A Mode drop-down in the top-right corner.

    The Login to Source Site dialog boxappears.

  4. Enter the base URL of the source site into the Source Site field. Do not include anything after the “.com” of the URL.
  5. Enter the username and password of the source site’s SuperUser or a FullAccess user with permission to create/modify users on the source site into the Username and Password fields, respectively.
  6. Click Connect.
  7. From the View drop-down, select the name of the Package the must be migrated.

    By default, all objects in the Package are selected. You can choose to migrate the entire Package, or you can deselect certain objects within the Package before migrating.

  8. Once the correct objects within the Package are selected, click Migrate.

    The Migration pop-up appears.

  9. Optionally enter a description of the migration. This will be visible in the migration log for the migration.

  10. Optionally select Include Snapshot to have the system take a snapshot of the target site immediately before performing the migration. For more information on Snapshots, see the Rollbacks and Snapshots topic.

  11. Click Migrate to perform the migration.

    A panel will appear in at the bottom of the Content pane to show the status of the migration.

  12. When the migration is complete, optionally click the Logs button in the Admin Action Bar to view the log for the migration.


ClosedImporting a Package

Importing a previously downloaded Package (a ZIP file) has the same effect as executing a migration, where the Package is the source and the current site is the target site. Each object within the Package will either update the corresponding object on the target site if it already exists, or be added to the target site if it does not already exist. As such, the success of a Package Import relies on the same conditions as the success of a migration.

To import a Package:

  1. Click Admin to go to the Admin Home Page.
  2. Click Migration under Utilities.

    The Migration Center appears

  3. Select Import Packages from the Select A Mode drop-down in the top-right corner.

    The Upload Package dialog box appears.

  4. Click Browse.
  5. Navigate to the previously downloaded Package to be imported and select the ZIP file.
  6. Click Open (button may vary depending on what browser you are using).
  7. Click Upload.

    By default, all objects in the Package are selected. You can choose to import the entire Package, or you can deselect certain objects within the Package before importing.

  8. Click Migrate.
  9. Click Migrate to perform the import.

    A panel will appear in at the bottom of the Content pane to show the status of the import.

  10. When the import is complete, optionally click the Logs button in the Admin Action Bar to view the log for the import.

If the migration is successful, the Package has been imported and will appear in the list of Packages on the current site. If the migration is not successful, the Package import is not complete and none of the objects in the Package will be added or modified on the current site.

If a Package with the same Name and Version combination already exists on the site, the Packages will be recognized as being the same, even if they don’t contain the same objects.

In this case, a dialog box appears to ask if the existing Package should be overwritten. If the admin then selects Yes, and the import is successful, the uploaded Package will replace the existing Package, and the objects within the uploaded Package will be modified on the site according to their state in the uploaded Package.


NOTES

Packages cannot contain other Packages.

A Package cannot be imported or downloaded while a migration is in progress, a Rollback is progress, or a Snapshot is being applied.

RELATED TOPICS

Related Topics Link IconSee Also