You are here: Migration Management Center > Performing a Migration

Performing a Migration

ADMINISTRATION

ClosedMigrating from a Source Site

  1. Click Admin to go to the Admin Home Page.
  2. Click Migration under Utilities.

    The Migration Center appears.

  3. Select Import From Source from the Select A Mode drop-down in the top-right corner.

    The Login to Source Site window appears.

  4. Enter the base URL of the source site into the Source Site field. Do not include anything after the “.com” of the URL.
  5. Enter the username and password of the source site’s SuperUser or a FullAccess user with permission to create/modify users on the source site into the Username and Password fields, respectively.

  6. Click Connect.
  7. From the View drop-down, select Whole Site.
  8. Select components for migration by selecting their checkboxes.

    Each folder in the Contents pane can be expanded so that individual components (or additional folders) within each folder can be selected for migration. Selecting an entire folder (or Commerce Process, depending on how components are organized) will select all components within the folder (or Commerce Process) for migration.

    For more information on migrating individual components within a Commerce Process, see the Migrating a Commerce Process section below.

  9. When all components that must be migrated are selected, click Migrate.

    The Migration pop-up appears.

  10. Optionally enter a description of the migration. This will be visible in the migration log for the migration.
  11. Optionally select Include Snapshot to have the system take a snapshot of the target site immediately before performing the migration. For more information on Snapshots, see the Rollbacks and Snapshots topic.
  12. Click Migrate to perform the migration.

    A status panel appears in at the bottom of the Content pane to show the status of the migration.

  13. When the migration is complete, optionally click the Logs button in the Admin Action Bar to view the log for the migration.

ClosedMigrating a Commerce Process

When migrating a Commerce Process, the admin has the option of migrating the entire Commerce Process, or migrating select components of the Commerce Process. Only migrating select components of a Commerce Process will reduce migration time and is useful when only a few things have changed on the source site.

The following components can be migrated individually or as a group without having to migrate the entire Commerce Process:

The Commerce Stylesheet, the desktop layout, and the mobile layout cannot be migrated individually without migrating the entire Commerce Process.


ClosedMigrating an Entire Commerce Process

To migrate an entire Commerce Process, select the Commerce Process’s checkbox in the Content pane.

By selecting a Commerce Process, all components inside the Commerce Process will also be selected. Unselecting any component within the Commerce Process will unselect the Commerce Process in the Content pane, since the entire Commerce Process will no longer be set for migration.

If a Process’s checkbox is selected in theContent pane, and the Process is subsequently expanded in the Details pane, the objects in the Details pane will not appear selected.  That is, the checkboxes will not be checked, but the objects would still be included in the migration.

When the Commerce Process has been selected, you can proceed with the migration as you would with any other components. See the Migrating from a Source Site section above (start on step 9) for more information.

Data Columns can be deleted through the migration of a Commerce Process. Deletion of a Data Column via migration will have the same effect on Transaction Manager Views and Reports on the target site as if it were deleted in a Rollback.


ClosedMigrating Select Components of a Commerce Process

  1. To migrate select components of a Commerce Process, click the name of the Commerce Process in the Content pane to open the Commerce Process in the Details pane.

    The Commerce Process appears in the Details pane.

  2. Click the Expand icon () next to the name of the Commerce Process in the Details pane.

     

    A list of Commerce Process sub-categories appears, such as Documents, Integrations, Steps, XSL Views, etc. If a Commerce Process sub-category is selected, all components within the sub-category will also be selected form migration. Sub-categories can be expanded to reveal more sub-categories or components, which can be selected or expanded to reveal additional sub-categories or components.

  3. Expand categories to find and select the components that must be migrated.

  4. When the needed components within the Commerce Process have been selected, you can proceed with the migration as you would with any other components. See the Migrating from a Source Site section above (start on step 9) for more information.

ClosedTransferring the Product Family Data Type

The following data types require that a Product Family be specified in order to be transferred between sites, such as through migration or bulk download/upload:

Data Type XML CSV
Model (requires Product Family) X X
Product Line (requires Product Family) X X
Catalog Data (requires Product Family) X  

Configuration Data (requires Product Family)

X  
  1. Migrate the Product Definition first, because it contains the information of what Product Family has been defined.

    This will add the reference of the Product Family to the site.

    If the Product Family already exists on the site, then you can see the categories that are listed.

  2. Manually add the Product Family under Catalog Definition.
  3. Continue migrating the Product Line.
  4. Migrate the Catalog.
  5. Migrate Configuration data.
  6. Migrate Attributes.
  7. Migrate Rules.

NOTES

Commerce components cannot be deleted from a target site when migrated individually, apart from the entire Commerce Process—objects can only be deleted in a full migration of a Commerce Process.

For example, if a Commerce Main Document attribute exists on the target site but does not exist on a source site, that attribute will not be deleted from the target site if a Main Document's attributes are selected and then migrated.

After migrating individual components within a Commerce Process, differences calculated between the source and target site within the Content pane may show the sites to be different, even if all the differences within the Details pane show the sites to be the same.

In order to completely sync a Commerce Process between two sites, perform a full migration of the Commerce Process using the Content pane.

RELATED TOPICS

Related Topics Link IconSee Also