You are here: Migration Management Center > Rollbacks & Snapshots

Rollbacks and Snapshots

OVERVIEW

While care should be taken when migrating objects from site to site, migrations are not final and can be undone. If a mistake is made during a migration, admins will potentially have two ways to return a target site to a former state:

ClosedMigration Rollback

Migration Rollbacks allow you to undo the changes made to target sites by individual migrations. Immediately before a migration is initialized, CPQ Cloud will store a record of the state of all objects on the target site that will be affected by the migration. When a Rollback is performed, the objects on the target site that were affected by the migration will be reverted to their original state immediately before the migration. If any other changes were made to these objects by additional migrations after the migration that is undone, those changes will also be reverted.

The admin has the option of undoing the 20 most-recent migrations via Rollback.

Rollbacks will not affect Transactions.

Rollbacks are performed from the Migration Logs page. For more information about the Migration Logs page, see the Migration Logs topic.


ClosedRollback & Steps

Rollbacks do not delete Commerce Steps. If a Commerce Step exists on the target site in current state but does not exist in the migration selected to rollback to, the Commerce Step will remain on the target site with the following effects:

This will allow any Transaction in the Commerce Step to still transition out as it would have at the time Rollback was initiated.

Because the Commerce Step did not exist at the state of the migration and thus no rule could have existed to allow a transition into the Commerce Step, Transactions will no longer transition into the Commerce Step after Rollback without direct admin changes or an additional migration of Commerce.

ClosedRollback & Data Tables/File Manager

Individual Data Tables or File Manager files are affected in Rollback only if a version is contained within any recorded state between current state and the state being rolled-back to.

Rollbacks will not fail if a simple table-based rule is reverted when using a table that no longer exists. A warning message will be logged in the Rollback status. Simple table-based rules will return null at run time. When the admin next attempts to edit the rule, the application will request that the user select a new table.

Any Data Table or File Manager file not contained within a snapshot between current state and the snapshot being rolled-back to will not be deleted or altered by a Rollback.

ClosedRollback & Data Columns

Rollback will remove a Data Column(s) if it is not contained within the Rollback.

Data Columns can be deleted through Migration. Deletion of a Data Column via Migration will have the same effect on Transaction Manager Views and Reports on the target site as if it were deleted in a Rollback.

ClosedSnapshots

A Snapshot is a capture of the state of a site's migratable objects,

The data stored in a Snapshot differs from the data stored for a potential Rollback in that Snapshots encompass all migratable objects (except Data Tables and File Manager files that are not selected for migration), not just those that are queued for migration.

When initializing a migration, the admin has the option of creating a Snapshot by selecting Include Snapshot?. Due to the amount of data that is recorded and stored within a Snapshot, migrations that include Snapshots will take longer to complete than migrations that do not include Snapshots.

The admin can choose to revert the target site’s migratable components to their state at the time a Snapshot was created by clicking the Revert to Snapshot button on the Migration Logs page.

Snapshots capture only the deployed version of each category.

All Snapshots are permanently deleted upon upgrade of a major Release (such as 2015 R1). Snapshots are not deleted upon upgrade of an Update (such as 2015 R1 Update 1) and thus can still be reverted to.


ClosedSnapshot Storage

ClosedMigration Snapshots

Snapshots can be taken during migration by selecting the Include Snapshot? checkbox on the Description dialog box that opens after a user clicks Migrate.

Snapshots taken by this method include the state of all objects available for a migration, such as Configuration, Commerce, Util Libraries, and so on, with the exception of Data Tables and File Manager. Only Data Tables and File Manager files included in the present migration will be included in the Snapshot.

ClosedOn Demand Snapshots

Snapshots can also be taken on demand using the Create Snapshot button on the Migration Logs page. Snapshots taken by this method will include all migratable objects except Data Tables and File Manager, which cannot be added to On Demand Snapshots.


ADMINISTRATION

ClosedPerforming a Migration Rollback

Rollbacks can only be performed on one of the 20 most recent successful migrations. Successful migrations add a new line to the Migration Logs page with an inline Undo button, which is used to perform a Rollback.

To initiate a Rollback:

  1. Open the Migration Logs page.
    1. Click Admin to go to the Admin Home Page.
    2. Click (Logs) next to Migration under the Utilities section.

      or...

      Click Migration under the Utilities section and then click Logs in the bottom left corner of the page.

  2. Find the migration you wish to roll-back in the list, and click the Undo button for the migration.

A line on the Migration Logs page is created for both the initiation and the successful completion of a Rollback. Once a Rollback is complete, the Undo button for that migration and all migrations that took place after that date no longer appears on the Migration Logs page. However, the migration records remain.

A status email is sent to the SuperUser when Rollback is complete.

Migration records cannot be deleted from the Migration Status page if the “Undo” option is still available. Records for Rollbacks will also be included within the Migration Status page.

Only users with access to perform migrations (the SuperUser and FullAccess users with permission to create and modify users) can perform Rollbacks.

Avoid making changes to a production (target) site directly, especially if you plan to use Rollbacks. Changes made to migratable objects outside of the Migration Center may cause a Rollback to fail if the objects to be reverted are missing or have been modified.

Rollback is a permanent action. Rollbacks cannot be undone.

While a Rollback is in progress, users cannot trigger: Migration, Deployment, or additional Rollbacks.

All stored data for potential Rollbacks is permanently deleted upon upgrade of a major Release (such as 2015 R1). Stored data for potential Rollbacks are not deleted upon an Update (such as 2015 R1 Update 1), and thus can still be rolled-back.


ClosedApplying (Reverting to) a Snapshot

The creation of a Snapshot will add its own line to the Migration Logs page. If the Snapshot was taken during a migration, the line will appear below and separate from the migration entry. All Snapshot lines will include a Revert to Snapshot button, which is used to apply a Snapshot.

To apply a Snapshot:

  1. Open the Migration Logs page.
    1. Click Admin to go to the Admin Home Page.
    2. Click (Logs) next to Migration under the Utilities section.

      or...

      Click Migration under the Utilities section and then click Logs in the bottom left corner of the page.

  2. Find the Snapshot you wish to apply from the list, and click the Revert to Snapshot button for the Snapshot.

NOTES

RELATED TOPICS

Related Topics Link IconSee Also